Charles Simic heeft geen talent meer voor luiheid

juli 19, 2013

10_David-Claerbout_Rocking-Chair,-2003

David Claerbout, Rocking chair 2003 

“In my youth, I had a reputation of being extraordinarily lazy. My fame extended beyond our neighborhood. When my name was mentioned, my teachers in school used to roll their eyes and cross themselves. My mother could not agree more. She’d tell about the day I started for school wearing just one shoe, and when I realized my mistake, instead of going back home to get the other, I stayed where I was in the street watching a piano being lifted to several stories up to some apartment, till I was late for school.”

… en toch is hij zijn talent voor luiheid verloren. Charles Simic schreef een landerige column over de luie zomer.

Geef een reactie

