Salman (Ahmed) Rushdie: “give me back my name!”

november 15, 2011

Gisteren, 14 november, twitterde Salman Rushdie over gerommel met zijn facebookprofiel:

“Amazing. 2 days ago FB deactivated my page saying they didn’t believe I was me. I had to send a photo of my passport page. THEN…”

“…they said yes, I was me, but insisted I use the name Ahmed which appears before Salman on my passport and which I have never used. NOW…”

“They have reactivated my FB page as “Ahmed Rushdie,”in spite of the world knowing me as Salman. Morons. @MarkZuckerbergF? Are you listening?”

“Maybe @MarkZuckerbergF is a phony. Is the real #Zuckerberg on Twitter? Where are you hiding, Mark? Come out here and give me back my name!”

“So if @finkd is the real #Zuckerberg: what are your people up to, sir? Why have I been denied my name on FB? An answer would be nice.”

“Good idea. Dear #Facebook, forcing me to change my FB name from Salman to Ahmed Rushdie is like forcing J. Edgar to become John Hoover.”

“Or, if F. Scott Fitzgerald was on #Facebook, would they force him to be Francis Fitzgerald? What about F. Murray Abraham?”

“Victory! #Facebook has buckled! I’m Salman Rushdie again. I feel SO much better. An identity crisis at my age is no fun. Thank you Twitter!”

One Response to “Salman (Ahmed) Rushdie: “give me back my name!””


  1. […] op Jan Pollet se weblog kan die volle relaas van Rushdie se tweets gelees word. (Vir jou leesgerief plaas ek dit […]


Geef een reactie

